>  Topics > TDG > Dangerous Goods


Dangerous Goods Packing Group

By Little Pro on 2016-01-07 Views:  Update:2018-02-09

Dangerous goods are assigned into 3 packing groups (also known as UN Packing Group) in accordance with the degree of danger they present:

  • Packing Group I: high danger
  • Packing Group II: medium danger
  • Packing Group III: low danger

Note: articles and some dangerous goods classes (Class 2, Division 6.2 and Class 7) do not have packing groups.

Why Is UN Packing Group Important?

The packing group also determines the degree of protective packaging required. Packages and containers for dangerous goods that have passed rigorous performance testing usually bear UN specification marks (see example below). X, Y and Z will be used to indicate whether the package is appropriate for all 3 packing groups or just 1 packing group.

UN Specification Marking

More Reading


 Tags: Topics - TDGDangerous Goods

Hot Articles